Iowa summer sights 2015, tree in the middle of the road

I forgot to post this one! I have so many pictures I have to get to from this summer and the “Iowa sights” my kids and I experienced that I have not had time to write about. This is a “tree in the middle of the road” that is well-known in Iowa as a tourist stop. Not much to look at except that it is huge way bigger than I had planned or envisioned.

My daughter and I decided on a June afternoon to head out and find it. We drove the back gravel roads until I finally had to call my husband to come and show me where to go. Rumor has it several cars have run into it. Old wives tales say to avoid running around it 3 times (bad luck I guess?) but all the same… it is one of those bucket list things I want to say I have seen and now I can say it.

If ever in Iowa… look for the tree in the middle of the road! Directions can be found here:

Tree in the middle of the road, Iowa

Interesting little cemetary along the route, the church is gone.. but the steps remain. Records show a Methodist church was once there

   

Leave a Reply

