Throwback Thursday photo, becoming a nurse

“To do what nobody else will do, in a way that nobody else can do, in spite of all we go through, that is to be a nurse” ~Rawsi Williams

I cannot believe this was close to 20 years ago. Nursing has been such a rewarding profession that the time has flown by. Along the way I have witnessed life’s greatest miracles and life’s toughest losses. I have watched pain, and joy, sorrow and fear. I have seen complete joy at the best moments and anger at the worst. I have held someones hand as they experienced death, and I have held someones hand as they brought new life into this world. I was the “someone” for a patient that had no one, and I was the “someone” for a family who lost their only one. It has been hands down the greatest ride I could have possibly taken in this roller coaster we call life.

 

I was pinned as an RN in May of 1996. I was 20 years old at that time. In the span of 20 years I have worked in pediatrics, nursery, emergency services, medical surgery, oral surgery, maxillofacial surgery, in a joint unit, as a cardiac rehabilitation nurse and as a school nurse. Each position was unique and rewarding. Each position was one I learned something life changing from. I loved each position in its own way and I feel rewarded for choosing the career I chose.

I decided to post this throwback today in light of all the controversy around nursing lately. Nurses DO unite, nurse DO defend one another and more than any other field, nurses exhibit compassion toward others when others can’t.

So happy throwback Thursday photo! Here’s to nurses everywhere! I am proud to be a part of the greatest profession in the world….

Leave a Reply

