Chicken Sour Cream Enchiladas

It has been SUCH a busy week! It’s the week after homecoming so a recovery week for sure. We had meetings all day Monday, then back to school Tuesday and church Wednesday, football Thursday and Friday. On top of that my middle child turned 14! I cannot believe how time has flown. We worked in birthday cake and presents on Thursday after football and we acquired another 4 teenage boys last night overnight to celebrate after the football game. We also had to work in the driver’s permit test and getting a permit. Meanwhile my daughter headed to another overnight for her friend. All in all, as my husband says… this hen will be happy once all of her chicks are back in their own nest and we get back to some semblance of routine.

IĀ did manage to get dinner made nightly, and I brought back this old favorite from my childhood! Its easy, and soooo good. I need to note that I collect and love cookbooks, especially those compiled from small town celebrations, family reunions and church fundraisers. I think this is because the people who contribute like to throw in their favorites! This one came from my stepmom and she made it at Christmas at our family get togethers as I was growing up. I also think it is even better reheated so that is a bonus for parents like me who are on the go and seldom have a meal at home together.

I made this Monday night because we were home and together. It takes a little while to roll all the enchiladas up before baking but it is worth it and is so filling when served with rice or chips and salsa. It is a favorite at our house, enjoy!

Start with the filling ingredients, mix with cooked chicken

Mix filling well. Add green chilis to your liking, I used 2 cans chopped green chilis since they are not too hot

Ready to go in the oven….mine fit in a 13×9 in pan plus a 9×9 inch pan

Sour Cream Enchiladas

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

2 8 oz. cartons sour cream

8 oz. shredded mozerella

8 oz. shredded Monterey Jack cheese

2 cans green chilies

1 lg onion chopped

4 cooked, shredded chicken breasts

24 corn tortillas (or I used flour and omitted the use of oil to soften)

Combine all ingredients, except tortillas. Spread several tablespoons of mixture into the bottom of a 9×13 in. baking dish, Soften tortillas in oil and drain on paper towel. Tope each tortilla with a heaping tablespoon of mixture, roll up and place seam side down in baking dish. Pour remaining mixture on top, add water to spread if needed. Sprinkle with remaining cheese. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

Source: Nancy Shirbroun, Bayard Cookbook

I hope you have a great rest of your weekend! Tomorrow we go help my brother move after hosting a church breakfast and teaching Sunday school in the morning. Football wraps up this week too and then on to basketball, traveling basketball and wrestling. I think I have a hard time saying no…. šŸ™‚

Find this at the February CountryLINKed blog party at this link!

February Country Fair Blog party!

 

2 thoughts on “Chicken Sour Cream Enchiladas

Leave a Reply

