Easy Hamballs… A Family Favorite!

It’s a snow day!! a perfect day to cook a family favorite in our house. Pair this with a pan of cheesy potatoes and a veggie and you are set. My kids LOVE this recipe and it has become a fall favorite at our house. The basis of it is simple. You can make your own basic ham loaf mixture (or…. if you are like me, you drive to your local grocery store and buy theirs from the meat counter. HA!)

I have made this for my family literally a THOUSAND times. In Iowa we have a chain of grocery stores called Fareway. This is where I buy my ham loaf already made. Then I doctor it up. I have to give credit to the recipe for ham balls to Fareway though the butcher gave me the recipe on a recipe card one night when I was stewing over what to make for dinner. He simply said to modify their ham loaf recipe and make ham balls and “Voila!” here is the recipe all typed up on a card already. πŸ™‚

So here you go! Enjoy!

Easy Ham Balls

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 1 hrs 30 minutes
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

3 pounds premade Hamloaf

1 cup graham cracker crumbs

1 cup milk

2 eggs

1 can tomato soup

1/2 cup vinegar

1 TSP DRY mustard

1 and 1/2 cups brown sugar

Mix meat, milk, eggs and crackers together and form 18-20 small ham balls (or I make 12 large ham balls)

Place in large flat baking dish

Mix soup, sugar, vinegar and mustard together, Pour over hamballs

Bake 1 hour at 350 degrees uncovered

Serve and enjoy!

Recipe credit to Fareway Food stores meat counter

Find this at the February Country LINKed blog party at this link!

Β February Country Fair blog party!

Leave a Reply

