Two pound bars

I take a lot of meals to banquets and potlucks. I think because I have high school age kids that have a sports banquet or team dinner every other week. Because of this I am always trying to think of something new and exciting to take. Who wants the same old brownies and store-bought cookies every time?

This was a recipe I got from a friend after she made it at a birthday party I went to. It was delicious! I made it for my son’s wrestling team and got requests from the majority of the moms for the recipe because their kids liked it so much. Score! So I will share it on my blog hoping it will make your kids as happy as it has made mine. ย ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Start by mixing the dry ingredients with the melted margarine (or butter- you choose). This would be the first 6 ingredients in the recipe. It will come together in a crumbly texture, see below….

 

Once it looks like this you can press half of this into a 9×13″ pan and bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. This brings the bar portion of the bars together so you can top and bake with toppings. When I make this for the football/wrestling teams I usually make 2 pans at a time or I get complaints that they were gone so fast my kids did not get any at home. So I make one for home and one for school.

Press and bake the crusts. After 10 minutes it comes out looking like this and ย you an add the toppings. Top with chocolate chips, pour caramel over the top and sprinkle remainder of the oatmeal mix over chocolate and caramel. Put it back in the ovenย and bake an additional 20 minutes. Take out, let cool and VOILA’! The perfect bar! (My kids actually love to eat these warm and ooey gooey out of the oven)…

I am kicking myself because I did not get an “after” picture of what these look like when they are done but if you can imagine a crumble bar of chocolate, oatmeal and caramel that would be about spot on. They are awesome.

We are on ice and snow day #2 this week in Iowa and have been cooped up avoiding the cold. This would be the prefect treat that is quick to make while stuck at home. Here is the recipe to print and save. Enjoy!

Two Pound Bars

  • Servings: Twelve Bars
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

3 sticks margarine or butter melted

2 cups oatmeal

2 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

tsp salt

1 and 1/2 cups brown sugar

12 oz package chocolate chips

12.5 oz jar smuckers caramel topping

Mix first 6 ingredients above and pat half of mixture in 9×13″ pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. Sprinkle chocolate chips on and pour caramel over the top of the chips. Sprinkle rest of oatmeal mix on the top and bake another 20 minutes.

Hope you all are staying warm!

~Laura

 

Leave a Reply

